If your company produces security products, you're likely trying to get your equipment listed in the Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure (CPNI) Catalogue of Security Equipment. Earning a listing in the catalogue can be an involved process, as CPNI doesn't publish details on approval criteria. In this article, you'll learn all about what the CPNI Catalogue of Security Equipment is, why it's important and how to get an approved listing in it.

The CPNI Catalogue of Security Equipment

CPNI is a UK-based government entity whose mission is to protect the UK infrastructure. The Catalogue of Security Equipment (CSE) is a list of security devices that have been officially tested and approved for applications on critical national infrastructure (CNI) sites. Equipment is classified using four categories that range from Class 1 (lowest) to Class 4 (highest). These rankings are based on the level of protection offered by the equipment.

Why Should You Care About CPNI?

For companies within the UK that create security-related equipment, CPNI approval is one of the highest approvals security equipment can receive. Upon approval, companies will announce their approved product in a press release and display the CPNI-approved logo.

In a press release to Security Professional Magazine, Honeywell announced that their Galaxy Dimension product is now included in the official CPNI CSE, "This is a testament to the performance of our Galaxy Dimension range and its status as a product that is fit to protect the assets, networks and systems that are critical to our country’s national security. The solution is a perfect choice for any security application that requires robust, guaranteed performance in complex or challenging scenarios and surroundings."

Searching for CPNI produces pages of results for companies announcing their approved security products. But how does a company receive CPNI approval?

How to Become Listed in the CPNI Catalogue of Security Equipment

Now that you've seen why CPNI approval is important, how do you get it? CPNI doesn't publish the specifics of their approval process, you'll have to contact them for the details.

The general approach CPNI takes is to secure a physical asset in layers. When one layer fails, the entire asset should not become vulnerable. CPNI does mention that the process of developing these layers is part of the Operational Requirements (OR) process. Below are a few important points on physical security:

  • Measures to assist in the detection of threat weapons, including for example explosives, knives, firearms, chemical/biological/radiological material, etc.
  • Accesses control and locking systems
  • Measures to protect people or assets from the effect of a blast or ballistic attack
  • Measures to protect against or limit the spread of chemical, biological or radiological material

Phone systems can meet CPNI approval by building in a multi-layered system capable of operating after any single layer fails. Creating such a system can be a complex process, but with the right experts, you can accomplish your goal of CPNI approval.

Get Assistance With CPNI Approval

While CPNI provides a high-level overview of how to protect physical assets through a multi-layered approach, doing so in practice can be difficult. 8x8 can help guide you through the process, increasing your chances of CPNI approval and receiving a listing in the CPNI catalogue of security equipment. Being listed in the catalogue provides for better potential sales, allows you to display the CPNI approved logo and lends credibility to your product.

When it comes to security, 8x8 provides reliable and compliant cloud solutions at a demanding level rarely seen by other cloud providers. Don't take your chances with a subpar cloud-based telecom system. Call 1-866-879-8647 or fill out the form below to to speak to an 8x8 Product Specialist.

Related Topics

CPNI Rules

FIPS Cryptography

Safe Harbor Compliance